Development Direction

Old and generally outdated discussions, with the rare hidden gem. Enter at your own risk.

Moderators: Haplo, Lead Developers

lb003g0676
Developer

Development Direction

Post by lb003g0676 »

I have played a part in the concept art team here at TR for about a year and 2 months, minus a month or so due to my recent absence.

Now I haven't done much recently as I said, but in the extremely short amount of time I have been gone, modelling for Rihad has begun. I am really reluctant to post my concern about it, but I feel I should. I think there are two factors involved. New modellers without any knowledge of the TES world and minimal knowledge of the lore. And concept artists without much knowledge of lore (I am one of them).

And for both cases it's not really their fault, they have been told to go along with this Arabic style. Now despite me just saying I have little knowledge of lore, I know this much; Redguard culture as a whole aren't generically Arabic, they are a culture to themselves, in fact split up into 2 cultures, the more Imperialised Raga and Yoku. Where am I going with this? There is no real way of rectifying it. Wrong. I really think we need to ditch this classifying Hammerfall as a stereotypical Arabic province, populated by Redguards.

From the showcase people need it drilled into their heads, that it is certainly very Arabic inspired but it is predominantly alien. So that concept artists when drawing think... "Rather than just make this pillar normal, I will explore pentagonal embellished pillars". After all isn't it the job of a concept artist to conceptualise the land to make it interesting!? Modellers too.

And the other problem is consistency of these designs. To make towns truly unite within themselves, these imaginative designs need to stay the same. I am guilty of this. I recently gave Fairwater a design for a market stall, which really didn't fit Rihad at all (or how Rihad is developing).