Daylight

Old and generally outdated discussions, with the rare hidden gem. Enter at your own risk.

Moderators: Haplo, Lead Developers

Greybeard

Daylight

Post by Greybeard »

Just a short script to turn daylight on and off. Add this to a light source and put it near a window for a day/night effect. Or change the Gamehour numbers and put it on a candle or fireplace for the reverse effect.

begin Daylight

if ( Menumode == 1 )
Return
endif

short DayTimer
if ( DayTimer <= 100 )
set DayTimer to ( DayTimer + 1 )
return
endif
set DayTimer to 0

disable

if ( Gamehour >= 6 )
enable
endif
if ( Gamehour >= 19 )
disable
endif

end Daylight
Mindbasher

can I just...

Post by Mindbasher »

Can I just add this script to a light object, and it will work immediately? I'm no scripting expert so I just want to know for sure, I don't want to fok things up...

Olle
[img]http://forums.slipknotcpd.com/uploads/avvysmll.JPG[/img]
Ever wondered what's it like to die? Take my life, you'll soon find out, I'm dyin' all the time, all the way, every f*ckin' day...
Greybeard

Post by Greybeard »

Right. This script is completely straightforward. What actually happens is the script disables the light and checks for the time of day. If it is day it enables the light and if it is night it disables the light;. It has a little timer so that it only checks every few minutes. If you use it with a sound, it should check whether the sound is already on or off to avoid too much repetition.
Last edited by Greybeard on Fri Dec 26, 2003 2:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Kothloth
Developer Emeritus

Post by Kothloth »